You can share documents, boards, and folders from your Lucid Home Page and from within the editor. You can manage the permissions for collaborators, and transfer ownership of your documents. You can also use Join ID to provide a quick way for collaborators to access a document or board for a limited window. Read on to learn more.
Plan availability: Free, Individual, Team, and Enterprise.
- Available on FedRAMP accounts.
- If you are a FedRAMP user, documents can only be shared within the FedRAMP environment.
- Read the Lucid Plans article for more information about what is available on your account or the Upgrade your Lucid account article for instructions to upgrade.
Watch: Sharing in the Lucid Suite
Copy selected objects as an image
To copy and share the contents of your document as image, follow these steps:
- Select the content you want to share.
- Right-click the selection.
- Click Copy as a PNG.
Tip: Copy content as an image to share content from a Lucid document in external apps.
From the home page
To create a shareable link for a document, folder, or space from the Lucid Home Page, follow these steps:
- In your Lucid Home Page, hover over the thumbnail of the document or folder you want to create a shareable link for.
- Click the three dot more button on the thumbnail.
- Hover your cursor over "Share".
- Click Share.
-
Toggle on “Shareable link”.
- If you toggle off "Shareable link", users with the link will no longer have access to the document.
- Use the dropdown to adjust the permissions associated with the link.
- If you would like your collaborator to see a specific view, check the box next to "Link to current view".
- Click Copy link.
Tip: You can also click the link icon on a document's thumbnail to copy the document's shareable link.
From the editor
To create a shareable link for a document or space from the editor, follow these steps:
- Open the document or space you would like to share.
- Click Share in the top right corner.
-
Toggle on “Shareable link”.
- If you toggle off "Shareable link", users with the link will no longer have access to the document.
- Use the dropdown to adjust the permissions associated with the link.
-
If you would like your collaborator to see a specific view, check the box next to "Link to current view".
- If you are trying to share a link to a selected Frame in Lucidspark, you can check the box for “Link to selected frame”. Refer to our Organize content with Frames in Lucidspark article for more information.
-
Click Copy link.
- You can also get the shareable link by copying the URL from your address bar. Additionally, if you are sharing a Lucidspark board or Lucidchart document, you can copy the shareable link by clicking
the link icon to the right of the Share button.
- You can also get the shareable link by copying the URL from your address bar. Additionally, if you are sharing a Lucidspark board or Lucidchart document, you can copy the shareable link by clicking
Tip: You can also create a shareable link from the context menu of Frames, Timelines, and Dynamic Tables. These links take collaborators directly to the location of the Frame, Timeline, or Dynamic Table on the document.
Set a passcode and expiration
Setting a passcode and expiration for shareable links is only available to Enterprise accounts, including those in the FedRAMP environment. See the Upgrade your Lucid account article for instructions to upgrade.
Follow the steps below for setting a passcode or expiration:
- Click Share in the top right corner of the workspace.
- Toggle on “Shareable link”.
- Click Additional Settings.
- To set a password, check the box next to “Passcode”.
-
To set an expiration for the link, check the box next to “Expiration” and select a date and time.
- If an admin has set a default expiration date for shareable links, you will not be able to set an expiration date for longer than the default an admin has set.
- Click Copy invitation.
Note: An expiration applies to the shareable link only. This means all collaborators who accessed the document or board prior to the link expiring will continue to have access to the document or board. To revoke access from a collaborator, you will need to unshare the document or board with them.
Manage collaborators
Transfer ownership of a document
From the Share menu, you can transfer document ownership to one of the document's other collaborators. For more information, check out our Transfer Lucid documents article.
Use Join ID
Using a Join ID allows you to generate a short code that you can quickly send to collaborators to give them access to your document. Generating a Join ID is available only to Enterprise accounts but can be shared with users on any plan type.
Generate a Join ID
- Open the document that you want to generate a join ID code for.
- Select Share in the top-right corner.
- Open the three-dot menu from the top-right corner of the Share panel.
- Click Enable Join ID.
-
A 6-digit Join ID will be generated which you can copy and share with collaborators.
Access a Lucid document with Join ID
When someone shares a document using a Join ID, follow these steps to begin collaborating:
- Copy the Join ID.
- Navigate to lucid.app and log in.
- Click + New in the top-left corner.
- Select Enter Join ID.
- In the pop-up that appears, paste the Join ID.
- Click Join.
Alternatively, go to https://lucid.app/join, and enter the Join ID.
Note: Join ID works independently from password protected and expiring links. Join ID access automatically expires after two hours, or when disabled, whichever comes first.
For Enterprise admins
As an Enterprise admin, you can control your users’ ability to grant Join ID access to their documents. To allow Join ID access, read our Lucid admin panel: Security settings article.
Troubleshooting: Sharing
If you're experiencing issues with sharing a document, check out our Troubleshooting: Sharing article.
FAQ
If I share a Lucidchart document that has linked data attached to it, will collaborators have access to the dataset?
Yes, by default collaborators will be able to access any linked data associated with a Lucidchart document. However, you can prevent them from having this access by deleting the linked sheet from the document prior to sharing. When you do this, your data values and inserted text will be preserved. Please see the Link data to a Lucidchart document article for more information about data linking.
Can I notify collaborators via email that I shared a folder, document, or space with them?
Collaborators will be notified via email by default when you share with them. If you would like to turn off the notification when sharing, uncheck the box for “Notify via email” before clicking Invite.
Account admins can force automatic email notifications, so if you do not have the option to disable notifications it is likely that your account admin set email notifications as mandatory.
Can I add a document that has been shared with me to one of my folders?
Yes. You can create a shortcut to a document that has been shared with you by dragging it into “My Documents” or a folder you have created in your Lucid Home Page. Shortcuts are indicated by an arrow icon that will appear on the product-specific icon found to the left of the document title.
Documents with shortcuts will retain their original sharing permissions. When you add a shortcut to one of your folders, it will not change the document’s original location within Lucid, and therefore will also not change who has access to the document.
How am I notified if a user requests access to one of my Lucid documents?
You will receive an email notification if a user requests access to one of your documents. You can also see pending requests at the top of the Share panel.
Can I remove myself from a document that has been shared with me?
If you no longer want access to a document that has been shared with you, the owner of the document needs to remove you from the list of collaborators.
Give feedback on this article
Have feedback about this article? Tell us about your experience here.