Revision history in Lucidchart allows you to view the change history of a document, revert a document to a previous version, and create a new document from a previous version. You can also compare two versions of your document to see what changes have been made.
Plan availability: Team and Enterprise.
- Available on FedRAMP accounts.
- Read the Lucid Plans article for more information about what is available on your account or the Upgrade your Lucid account article for instructions to upgrade.
Watch: Revision history
Access revision history
To access a Lucid document's revision history menu, click the Changes saved icon to the right of the document's title in the top-right corner of the workspace.
View previous versions
Click on a tile to view the corresponding document version.
Note: Only the pages that were part of the selected version will be visible.
Changes that are made all at the same time by a single user will be grouped into a document version. If you want specific edits to be included in their own document version, be sure to name that document version when you make the changes.
Name document versions
To name specific versions of your document, follow these steps:
- Access revision history.
- Select the tile for a document version you would like to name.
- Click the three-dot menu to the right of the tile.
- Select Name this version.
- Type in a name.
- Click “Enter” on your keyboard.
Once you have named versions of your document, you can choose to see only those that you have named. To do so, toggle on “Show named versions only” found at the top of the revision tiles.
Open previous version
When you are previewing a document version, a banner will display at the top of the editor with two prompts in the top-right corner: New from version or Restore.
Click New from version to create a new document from the previewed version. This document will automatically open in the editor, and you are free to make changes to it without affecting the original document.
Note: The new document will only exist on the Documents page. If there were collaborators on the original, you need to re-share it with them to continue collaborating.
Click Restore to return the document to the previewed version, removing all edits made in between that version and the document’s current state.
Compare versions
In order to identify what changes have been made in a document, you can select two versions of a Lucidchart document to compare side-by-side.
Tip: To compare versions of a Lucidspark document, use universal canvas to edit your document in Lucidchart, then follow the steps below. For more information about switching products, check out our Use universal canvas to streamline your workflow article.
To compare two versions of your document, follow these steps:
- Access revision history.
- Select one of the versions of your document.
- Click the Compare Version button at the bottom of the revision history log.
- Select the second version of the document you would like to compare.
- Click the Compare Selected Versions button at the bottom of the revision history log.
The two document versions will then both be visible, so that you can see what changes have been made. There is visual highlighting of high-level differences along with a detailed list of differences.
Review the list on the right side of the editor to see a detailed breakdown of added and deleted objects. Using the dropdown options under each of those sections, you can select to view specific differences on your document versions.
Learn more: In addition to comparing versions of a document, you can compare two different documents. For more information about how to Compare two Lucidchart documents, check out our article.
FAQ
I accidentally restored my document to a previous version but I want to get back my most recent edits. Can I undo the restoration?
Yes. To return to the latest version of your document (prior to a restoration), restore your document to the most recent version in your revision history menu.
Can a collaborator restore a document to a previous version?
If a collaborator has edit access to a document, they can restore the document to a previous version, and the change will affect the document on all collaborators' accounts, including that of the document owner. To avoid any confusion, we recommend creating a document from a previous version if there are collaborators on the document.
Give feedback on this article
Have feedback about this article? Tell us about your experience here.