Team folders make collaboration easier than ever by allowing Enterprise teams to store documents in one place that can be made accessible to all account members. Read this article to learn how to create, manage, and share a team folder.
Plan availability: Enterprise only.
- Available on FedRAMP accounts.
- Read the Lucid Plans article for more information about what is available on your account or the Upgrade your Lucid account article for instructions to upgrade.
Enterprise accounts, including those on the FedRAMP environment, created after May 15, 2024 don't have access to team folders. We recommend leveraging team hubs to organize teams and share documents within your Enterprise account..
Watch: Manage team folders
About team folders
Refer to the table below to see at-a-glance what users and admins can do with different access permissions on a team folder:
| Users with “Edit and Share” access | Users with “Edit” access | Users with “Comment” access | Users with “View” access | Account owner and account admins | |
| Can move documents in and out of the team folder | Available | Not available | Not available | Not available | Available |
| Can move folders in and out of the team folder | Not available | Not available | Not available | Not available | Available |
| Can share all documents with others | Available | Not available | Not available | Not available | Same as users |
| Can edit all documents | Available | Available | Not available | Not available | Same as users |
| Can comment on all documents | Available | Available | Available | Not available | Same as users |
| Can view all documents | Available | Available | Available | Available | Same as users* |
*Admins with access to Document Discovery can view all documents on the account, regardless of access permission for the document. Non-Document admins need to have at least “View” access permissions to the team folder or document in order to view them in the Documents list.
Here are more details about team folder access permissions:
- Only the account owner and account admin can move folders into a team folder.
- The account owner and account admin can always move documents in and out of a team folder, regardless of their permissions. Users can move a document or board out of a team folder only if they have at least “Edit” access on the team folder.
- If the destination of the document or board is another team folder, a user needs at least “Edit” access to that team folder as well to move the document there. If the destination is a standard folder, users need “Edit and Share” access for the standard folder.
- When a user with at least “Edit” permission moves a document or board out of a team folder and into their personal documents, they become the new document owner.
- Users will never have fewer permissions to a document or board within a team folder than they do to the team folder itself. Lucid defaults to the highest level of access permissions between the two.
- For example, users with “Edit” permissions on a team folder have access to edit all documents within the team folder and cannot be restricted to “View” access on individual documents.
- However, users with “View” permissions on a team folder can be granted “Edit” permissions to specific documents within that team folder.
- If a document from a shared folder is moved into a team folder, collaborators on the shared folder will lose access and collaborators on the team folder will gain access.
- If a document is shared directly with a collaborator, they will keep access.
- Even if you are the original creator of a document or board in a team folder, it is possible that you could lose access to that document or board if you are removed from the team folder.
Create a team folder
To create a new team folder, follow these steps:
- From the Lucid Home Page, select +New in the top-left corner.
- Hover over "Folder" in the dropdown.
- Select Team folder.
- Type a name for the team folder.
- Click OK.
Note: If you are unable to create a team folder, it is likely your account admin has restricted access to team folder creation.
To add documents to a team folder, you can:
- Move an existing document you own into a team folder.
- Create a new document or board within the team folder.
Note: If you are not an admin, you can only move documents you own into a team folder you have at least “Edit” access to. You can also move documents from another team folder you have at least "Edit" access to. You cannot move documents owned by another user or account into a team folder, regardless of your permission level.
Only admin can move folders into a team folder. If you are not an admin and you need to move a folder into a team folder, share the folder with the account admin and ask them to move it into the team folder.
Adjust team folder access permissions
To change access permissions on a team folder for yourself or a collaborator, you need “Edit and Share” permission on the team folder.
Review and adjust individual and group permissions by following these steps:
- Navigate to the Lucid Home Page.
- From the left-side menu, select Documents.
- Select the team folders dropdown from the list.
- Locate the team folder and select
the More options icon.
- Hover your cursor over "Share".
- Click Share.
- In the modal that appears, select Manage in the bottom-right corner.
- Use the dropdown to adjust permissions for individual users and groups.
- Click Done.
To remove yourself or another person as a collaborator, follow the instructions above to step 5 and click the X icon to the right of a name.
Note: If you want to remove yourself from a team folder but you are the only collaborator with “Edit and Share” access, you must first add another collaborator and grant them “Edit and Share” access before you remove your own permissions.
Delete a team folder
In order to delete a team folder, you must have at least “Edit” access for that team folder. If you are unable to delete a team folder, it is likely your account admin has restricted access to team folder creation.
To delete a team folder:
- Hover your cursor over the team folder.
- Select the three-dot More icon.
- From the menu that appears, select Move to Trash.
When you delete a team folder, the folder and the documents within it will be moved to the trash for all team folder collaborators—not just for the person who deleted them. Only users with “Edit” access or higher can restore the deleted team folder and its contents from the trash.
If you do not want to permanently delete a team folder, but want to remove yourself as a collaborator instead, you must first add another collaborator and grant them “Edit and Share” access before you remove your own permissions. See the Adjust team folder access permissions section for detailed steps.
For admins: Manage team folder settings
To access admin settings for team folder management in the Lucid admin panel:
- Select Admin from the left-hand Lucid menu.
- Click Security.
- From the dropdown menu, select Feature controls.
Learn more: Read the Lucid admin panel: Security settings article to learn more about how to manage team folder settings.
Migrate a team folder to a team hub
You can move one or more team folders into a team hub to keep documents and folders in a central location. Once completed, this cannot be undone—you can’t revert the folder back into a team folder.
To move a team folder into a team hub, follow these steps:
- From the Documents page of your Lucid account, select Team folders from the navigation menu on the left-hand side.
- Select the team folder you want to migrate into a team hub.
- If you want to migrate multiple, you can select more in step 4.
- Click
the Move to team icon at the bottom of the thumbnail.
- Select additional team folders to move to the team hub, if you have more than one.
- Click Continue.
- Under “Choose team”, select a team from the dropdown or click + New team to create a new team.
- Click Continue.
- If collaborators on the team folder are not already team members of the team hub, use the dropdown menu under “Review permissions” to determine whether to add them to the new team or not, then click Continue.
- The “Review permissions” panel only appears if team folder collaborators are not already members of the team hub.
- Click Move.
Note: To move a team folder into a team hub, you must be assigned an account admin or account owner role.
Team members can now access migrated team folders in their "Shared with me” folder or from the team hub Documents page.
Give feedback on this article
Have feedback about this article? Tell us about your experience here.